Skip to content
April 22, 2007 / TildeWill

A Conglomeration of Quotations

I’ve recently made some choices in my life that aren’t in line with the person I thought I would be five years ago. And while most of those choices were fun and did not hurt anyone, they’re choices that I need to come to terms with and rectify.

As the first step of that process, I’ve decided to define who I am/want to be. I thought I’d make this part of my project public, and conduct it by giving a daily quote that sums up a character trait, then elaborate on it a bit. So today’s quote is:

“We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful what we pretend to be. ”
Kurt Vonnegut, Mother Night
To me, this quote says that our actions determine who we are, even if those actions are not in line with who we believe ourselves to be. I’m also reminded of another quote, “You are what you eat.” Going off of that and looking only at my most recent meal, I’m fried chicken, mashed potatoes with gravy, and a Coke.

If you ever have a quote that you think applies or is better, by all means feel free to leave it in the comments.

Leave a comment