Skip to content
April 11, 2008 / TildeWill

Life is for Sharing

I’ve had this blog title sitting empty as a draft for a while now. I was reminded of just how true it is on two recent occasions. The first was in my internal battle I waged this past weekend with myself. I was struggling to decide if I should stay in a dead-end relationship, or to move on. Yeah, it was going to end, but at the same time, I wasn’t alone. There was a specific someone I was sharing life with. To me, there is no afterlife to look forward to, so really the goal of life is to be happy. I’ve learned that it’s easiest to be happy when you surround yourself with happy people. That way you can share the joy with those you love the most.

I also watched Into the Wild this week. It’s about a guy who abandons his life as a college graduate and hitch hikes across the country, making his way for Alaska. Along the way he’s shown reading the works of people who removed themselves from society in search of the truth. He eventually comes to realize “Happiness isn’t real unless it is shared.” And he’s so spot on that it hurts. If you don’t believe me, try to remember a time where something great happened to you, and there was no one around to tell – go on, remember how that felt – it was like it didn’t count till someone else knew, someone you knew, right? Life is for sharing.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. bathpenguin / Apr 12 2008 4:19 am

    What you forget, is that the man dies in the wilderness, alone. The story is beautiful not because he shared it himself, but because those that survived him, learned from him and cherished his experiences enough to recreate him.

    He has shared with not just one, but many…in life and in death.

    It may come in all forms, but perhaps what it comes down to, is “something worth leaving behind”, whether it be art, a way of life or love.

    You’ve shared it Will. Not with just one. But with many.

    and believe me when i say: we are all grateful.

  2. lina / Apr 14 2008 1:26 pm

    Sad movie was sad, but I agree the point was spot on. The more people you can share with, the better the whole experience.

Leave a Reply

