Skip to content
November 5, 2007 / TildeWill

A Triaxilating Subspace Frequency

Ok, so I’ve been watching too much Star Trek lately. But I wanted to talk about the three broad areas of my life, fencing, work, and romance.

Fencing: The past two weekends I’ve been away with the Purdue Fencing Club coaching them at their competitions. The first competition everyone was getting their footings, but in the second one I really saw some elements come through. Some of them have learned a good deal since last year. Some are still fencing like newbies. Some can take my coaching advice well, others don’t seem to listen at all and it makes me wonder why I bother to show up at times.

But some have shown interest in wanting to take private lessons. I want to offer them, but I’m not sure how to go about it because of what will be a reoccurring theme in this post: lack of time. They need the lessons. I need to give them. I just need to figure out when.

Work: Since the change to hourly, things have been running fairly smoothly. it’s only been a week, but I instantly feel like we’re making better use of the time we’re there and my coworkers are more focused. But last week i was barely able to be in the office for 40 hours. I’m up late for fencing, so I need my sleep and then I have to bail out by 5 to be able to eat some dinner before fencing practice. Even if I could work late, I want to find time to do things for myself.

But on the other hand, there’s talk of forming a new team, and that team would need a development lead. I could be that guy, but I don’t yet feel confident enough in my design skills. I can fix problems, both code and otherwise like a champ, but working from a blank slate is something I need to grow in to. And in order to grow there, I need to spend time on my own on side projects, and reading and learning. Time that I’m trying to balance.

Relationships: I’ve gotten what I feel is a pretty clear cold shoulder from Jersey Girl. Which simplifies things and frees up my emotions for a potentially deep and long-lasting relationship with Melanie. Melanie and I have been on a good number of dates now, and she does a good job of balancing who comes up/down and who picks up the tab, which makes it really easy to see her more. Until now I’ve been avoiding the barrier of getting into the nitty gritty parts of a relationship, so hopefully we’ll see this relationship get kicked up a notch in the months to come. She’s gotten an invite to Thanksgiving by my parents, so that’s always a good sign.

So I’m not complaining about the time thing. Just pointing out that I’m struggling to do all the things I want to do with my life. To help out I’m trying to combine things, like inviting Melanie to come to a fencing tournament, getting the experienced fencers to do more and more coaching, and trying to wake up earlier so I can get more time in at work and spend some time there bettering my skills. More and more it looks like I’ll be in Lafayette for the long haul.

Leave a Reply

