Skip to content
September 26, 2007 / TildeWill

I want to quit

Not my job job, but my position as secretary of the Indiana Division. It’s a volunteer position, and stuff just moves too slow for me, not just the officers, but the division as a whole is so resistant to change. I think that’s the best part about the way RCF is set up. Changes happen at my pace… fast.

One of our officers has yet to attend a division event since before June. She wonders what we’ve talked about. She gives me extra gray hairs on my head. But then I try to make changes that’ll make it easier to host events, generate more revenue for the division, and increase the quality of fencing, and they’re all met with “We didn’t do it this way before.” or “Why are you treating this as if it’s an elite event”. BECAUSE WE ARE THE INDIANA DIVISION OF THE UNITED STATES FENCING ASSOCIATION!!! THAT’S WHY! It is elite. It’s the best shot fencers have at learning what it is like at the national level. Year after year we’ve blown it, fudged the rules, slacked on the quality, and short changed ourselves till we have no semblance of what we’re supposed to be.

Events cost money to run. They take time to plan. I have a day job. Those three things combined mean that people need to chillax and let me do my work, or step up and take on some of the burden themselves.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. anthogna / Sep 26 2007 10:27 am

    In the business world, changes like the ones that are clearly needed here normally require a complete change-over of management, and a re-centering of philosophy. The next step, of course, is to fire or chill out every person who’s not in the boat.

    Sounds to me like you’d lose a lot of people if the “right” philosophy was put into place and enforced. Best to stretch it out over the long term, cause it’s no fun to run something if everyone leaves.

    In the meantime, people like us have to drudge through the bullshit day after day. Keep us away from military weapons, or we’d do some cleansing.

Leave a Reply

