Skip to content
September 18, 2007 / TildeWill

WOTD x 5

Alfonso read,

This panjandrum of a captain had us loaded on a truck with the other civilians. His own soldiers didn’t respect him; his roueish ways with the women overshadowed his rank, his uniform, his command. To him, he probably seemed like an outstanding guy, and couldn’t figure out why he couldn’t get ahead in life. He wasn’t ugly by any means, he spoke clearly, he seemed decently educated, but he was too ignoble to ascend the ranks any further and found himself stuck at ‘captain’. At least that’s what I think. The turpitude I have for the captain knows no bounds, and yet I must let him do his job because he’s here to ‘protect’ me. I wish he had left Leona and me in that crumbling town. We may have been in harm’s way, but at least we’d be together.

That brief moment they’d shared, just talking, was the ‘ne plus ultra‘ of my month, scratch that, year, maybe even life. I didn’t want it to ever end. Everything she said struck a chord with me; I could relate and empathize with each word that left her rosy lips. But I digress, the day’s rations are on their way, so I cease my drizzle and set this potboiler of a journal aside for now.

Leave a Reply

