Skip to content
September 6, 2007 / TildeWill

The 6 Month Veneer

I previously thought that I got bored after six months. It applied to new jobs and girlfriends, and probably a whole host of other things where I wasn’t looking for a pattern. More recently I started to suspect that that’s when things got harder, that the job started having expectations of me, or the girlfriend and I would start to tackle harder topics. And while that may have been true, the real problem is that I run out of jokes after six months.

I was sitting at my desk today wondering why my buddy Matt and I haven’t been getting along as well as we did. I wondered why we don’t joke as much. And I thought “I should tell a joke, lighten the mood”, but I couldn’t think of one that I hadn’t told a million times. It was then that I realized it wasn’t just my joke supply, but I think my charm, my wit has a six month shelf life. Then it begins to lose it’s potency. The people in my life that stick around beyond those six months are the ones who must have found something else in me they like. Interesting.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. lina / Sep 11 2007 1:08 pm

    You have to be saying this in jest. It’s so insanely emo you can’t be serious, right?

    You know that thing where you’re being an idiot and I do my best to slap some sense into you through the internet? (Granted you do return the favor ^_^) I think we’re at that point in our relationship again.

    6 month expiration date? Bah. How many years have you had some of your friends? Don’t give me that bull about how it’s different because of time and distance and so on either.

  2. myratrue / Sep 12 2007 9:17 pm

    See, I can see exactly where you are coming from. I have always had a feeling that people will eventually reach the end of me- a point where I have nothing new to give as entertainment and conversation or humor. I find that my expiration is shorter with people I have less in common with. For example, fencers can last longer, and sometimes turn into keepers. People that you find yourself searching for something to discuss are a lot shorter lifespans!

    That said, I think there has to be something that does keep some of us past that typical expiration date. Maybe it is a two sided continual addition to ourselves that we share. After all, new stories and jokes should go both ways so we don’t run out!

Leave a Reply

