Skip to content
August 31, 2007 / TildeWill

Day Off

After working so much I’m kind of at a loss as to what to do with myself. It’s especially bad because we were given Friday off, and Monday is a holiday. It’s a four day weekend and I have no big plans. So Friday I’ll catch up on my Fencing Division Secretarial duties, then Saturday I’ve got a demo and rock climbing on the books, but that’s about it. The real bummer for me is that when I realized I would get Friday off, I started to dream about making an impromptu trip to see Jersey Girl. Preexisting plans and expensive airfare put a kink in that plan, so she’ll be getting snail mail instead 😉

It’s interesting to work in the same place Matt does. I don’t mean the same physical location/cubicle. I mean the same supernal plane of work existence. A place where people work late not because they have to, but because they want to do good work and deliver on time. It’s a euphoric feeling to be at work the same time the next day as when you got there and to want to work the rest of the day. I’m not saying I want to make a habit of it, because I’m already an above average developer being paid a below average salary, and working anything over 40 hours doesn’t make financial sense. But from an emotional /pride stand point, it feels amazing. And when Matt and I walked in to work on Wednesday, when it was all over, with our nicest shoes, wearing our ties, everyone knew that we knew we had done good work.

That’s what sets my work experience at Passageways apart from any of my eleven previous jobs. I don’t feel alone when I take pride in what I do. And not just that there’s one person who keeps me company, it’s pretty much everyone at Passageways. It’s why Agile works there, people want to do good, they want to do the right thing, even if it’s the hard thing. That kind of energy is to be treasured.

Leave a Reply

