Skip to content
July 23, 2007 / TildeWill

25 and 364/365ths

By the time I finish writing this post, it’ll be my 26th birthday. A year ago I would not have guessed I’d be here. Working by day to pay the bills, working at night teaching Lafayette to fence. Nor would I have guessed that I’d be setting goals for myself to become a national level competitor.

I would not have guessed that I would have parted ways with my last girlfriend. I would not have guessed that I’d have half the [mis]adventures I’ve had this year in the dating realm. I would not have guessed that I’d be living even further East of town than I already was, but I like it here.

I would not have guessed that my family would have seen some of the trying times that it has. I would not have guessed that my parents would grow so much spiritually. I would not have guessed that Purdue fencers would get along so well with IU fencers, but they do.

I would not have guessed that of my past few birthdays, 26 would feel the most significant. I don’t understand why, but it feels like something is on the horizon. I would not have guessed that Matt and I would form a friendship that warranted him taking me out to lunch to celebrate. It’s good to have a friend in town my own age for a change.

I would not have guessed that an Olympic fencer who had avoided the Lafayette clubs for three years would suddenly decide he wanted to coach. I would not have guessed the gap in my skill and his skill could be so unimaginably great. I could not have guessed that I’d take six fencers to the National Championship, and that all six would finish in the top 80% of their events.

In summary, being 25 was unexpected.

Leave a Reply

