Skip to content
July 19, 2007 / TildeWill

The Queen Undoes the King

Looking back at the last eight years of my life, I think it might not be too far of a stretch to say that the introduction of a queen sized bed in to my life has been an integral part of my undoing. Oh sure, you can stretch out, and get all kinds of good sleep in it. And it’s considered the ideal bed size for couples by some experts. But what about when you are alone?

It feels empty. Like putting a penny in a five gallon glass jar, looking in, and thinking, “I’ll never fill this!” You find myself sleeping only on one half so that if someone were to someday come along, then I will not steal the covers, or flop an arm in her face making her wake up with a bloody nose. There are enough reminders that I’m alone throughout the day, and now I realize that I’m reminded in my sleep of just what it means to be single.

Leave a Reply

