Skip to content
June 25, 2007 / TildeWill

A Little Adult

If you were a new girlfriend of mine and were meeting my parents for the first time, my mother would probably tell you stories to illustrate how I’ve always been “a little adult”. The stories illustrate the point well, but I’ve never been able to put my finger on what characteristic created that feeling. I tell jokes that have all kinds of colorful imagery, I dress like I’m in middle school, I don’t like to brush my teeth.

So what makes me an adult? I think I may have figured out what that things is from a conversation with Matt (from work) today. It’s guilt. But not just guilt, but guilt combined with the motivation to avoid making the same mistake twice. The ability to improve. Knowing and admitting that you screwed up, then taking that feeling of having done a bad job, and using it as energy to drive yourself to do a better job next time. That’s what makes me an adult. That’s why I succeed where others might flounder.

Leave a Reply

