Skip to content
June 18, 2007 / TildeWill

Hardware Bitches!

On Sunday, after fighting illness on Saturday while moving (in truth the guys who came to help and my parents did all the work, I just pointed and answered questions), I went to South Bend Indiana to compete in the 12th Annual Indiana Cup (this is fencing). I went 2-2 in the pools, which was ok, but not great. I had a buy the first round of DE’s (direct elimination), and fenced Raffi for to get in to the semis.

I haven’t beaten Raffi since he started fencing, he is no easy opponent. In the pools he beat me 5-0. I haven’t lost a pool bout so bad in nearly two years. So we fenced. And he got the first two touches. I was too aggressive. I settled a bit, but kept the pressure on him. The score became 2-3. I stay focused, keep my attacks simplified, and just think about my feet, my distance, the stuff I’ve been working on in class.

When we break after three minutes of fencing, the score is now 9-6. I’m up, and I’m only 6 points away from winning with a three point lead. But I can’t think about that, the math won’t help me win. Pavel tells me what he sees, and he’s dead on. He can’t tell me what to do because he doesn’t fence my weapon, but he helps me enough, and I make some plans.

Second period goes similarly. Raffi is catching on, so I add a third stroke from time to time in my attacks to keep him guessing. The gap narrows as our scores advance. I throw in a nice evasion attack, and follow it up with a [lucky] flick to the back as he tried to counter attack. The score gets to 13-12, and I finish up neatly with more of the same, 15-12.

It was enough to earn me third place, so I came home with a cup. Another piece of hardware to add to my collection.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. lina / Jun 20 2007 8:45 am

    Congratz \o/

Leave a Reply

