Skip to content
April 24, 2007 / TildeWill

Pride and Humility

Keep you head high, but your nose at an approachable level.”

I don’t know who to credit for this quote since I can’t find the source, but I’m certain someone out there knows it. To me this quote says that you should take a lot of pride in who  you are, but keep that pride from becoming arrogance. You should still be friendly despite being a person of great character wealth.

I imagine most people have the most trouble with remaining humble. For me, I’ve had to make the conscience effort to hold my head high and be accepting of compliments for the things I’ve done. When I decided to make a full-time run at being a fencing instructor, people told me I was crazy, but in the same breath they’d tell me they were jealous, that they wished they could go after a dream the way I was. Even still, I felt like a homeless guy (even though I had a place I was renting) and a coward for bailing out of my 8-5 job at the steel mill (even though living off income from my own business would prove to be far more challenging).

It’s so hard for me to accept that I’ve done something well because out of 6 billion people in the world, there’s only one thing I can ever claim that I do better than all of them, that’s “being me”. No matter what, I will always have that, so I better make it something I’m proud of.

Leave a Reply

