Skip to content
April 14, 2007 / TildeWill

Supervisors

I was thinking about the reason why two developers from my company left shortly after I arrived. And I thought I’d share an idea that I had as a result of letting my brain wander on that path, though it doesn’t necessarily apply to anyone I know.

What I wonder is if on a subconscious level, people try to force their supervisors into a parental role. On some level, a boss is like a dad (or mom) away from home. You look to that person to set an example of how to approach your job. If he/she comes in late, then it is hard for you to justify being prompt. If he/she is always prepared and on time for meetings, then it’s easier for you to do the same. When you’re disobedient, you expect to be punished, and for consequences to be enforced. When you do well, you expect praise.

As an extension of this, perhaps this is why family men find themselves in management positions. Maybe that skill of knowing how to deal with children is the same as that required to deal with subordinates. It would seem then, that the most important question a candidate could ask during an interview is “Are you a parent? Is your family happy with you?”

Hmmm. Brainify that for a while.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. lina / Apr 16 2007 8:36 am

    Except that question isn’t really legal đŸ˜›

    I’m confused. Are you saying you were a crazy rebellious child to the point your parents gave up and left? ^_^

Leave a Reply

