Skip to content
February 24, 2007 / TildeWill

Weird

I’m weird. And I don’t mean “I’m weird because I talk about poop and dinosaurs.” – although that is also true. I mean that I don’t fit the mold.

I don’t fit the “guy” mold. I don’t particularly like watching football, or any sport for that matter. I don’t like beer, but I do like fruity drinks, ales, and wines. I’m more empathetic than most guys. And since you’re already thinking it, I’ve even been lovingly called “The gayest straight man I know” by a girlfriend. I don’t fit the “guy” mold.

I don’t fit the “smart kid” mold. I’m neither an overachiever, nor a slacker. I doubt I will ever go for my PhD, but I do run my own business. I enjoy learning new things, but I wouldn’t go within a ten foot radius of a library most days. I don’t fit the “smart kid” mold.

My point is that sometimes I say things, or do things, that make the people around me feel pleasantly surprised. They say “Most people wouldn’t do that Will.” And all I can think is that “I’m not like most people, I’m weird.” and it all feels very comfortable, very natural to me. I am who I am – completely un-moldy.

Leave a Reply

