Skip to content
February 4, 2007 / TildeWill

Saddle Up!

Friday was my first day at work. It was… exciting. I like the guys that I’m going to be working with. Our lead developer, Matt, is really sharp and has a great relationship with Chris. I’m only starting to get to know the others, but they all fit in well as programmers of a small company. They all seem driven, and take a lot of pride in their work, and they’re all funny/humorous in their own way which makes for a fun environment and I can’t wait until I’m on the other side of the wall working next to them all.

That said, it was a long ass day going from morning till night when I tack fencing on the end. I’ve also got to figure out a plan for the nights I’ll have to stay late at work. I can’t just cancel fencing class all the time. And then there’s the issue of practice at LAFA, which I want to uphold my commitment to, but that time slot is just awkward enough…

To top off my time commitments, I’ve finally got people who want to take private lessons. A couple of Purdue fencers are stepping up to the plate, along with some RCF fencers who want to kick it up a notch. I guess I could feel this happening, like a dam waiting to burst. At one point I even told my parents, “Come ask me how the club is in April” which will mark the one year point of my return from Cinci and would have been the one year point of me making a living off fencing. Between now and then, it also would have meant two more batches of beginners and a more rounded and full set of classes.

But as it stands I don’t know what I’m going to do. I’ve got a meeting set up at RCF for Sunday at 11:30 to brain storm. Right now, one idea I have is to do away with the intermediate class; only have beginner class, private lessons, open fencing, and a “competition class”. That solution is appealing to me since anyone can open up for open fencing. it also means that if I work late, then I’m only canceling a lesson with an individual and not an entire group. The drawback is that it would be a complete change in how things work at RCF, and we’d lose some fencers. My new job has to come first, that’s all there is to it.

Leave a Reply

