Skip to content
January 15, 2007 / TildeWill

I should have fenced

Today one of my fencers competed in the Junior category of women’s epee at the North American Cup help in Columbus, OH. I went along as a coach since a) she needed a ride, and b) back when she registered, she had indicated that she wanted to attend Northwestern University so I had planned to get her in front of their fencing coach so that he’d at least be familiar with her when she tried to walk on.

Today was also the Division I Men’s Foil, which I’ve been kicking around attending in my head. For those not in the fencing world, fencers start off unclassified, then they earn ratings, A through E with A being the highest. I am currently a C meaning I can compete in Div II (C’s, D’s, E’s, and U’s), or Div I (A’s, B’s, and C’s). In one group I’d be king of the hill. In the other group I’d be the foot of the hill on which the kings do battle. But I decided not to fence this time because I had planned to be a coach liaison. Today I found out she wasn’t going to apply to Northwestern, so that function was no longer required of me. Don’t get me wrong, I was glad I got to coach her, and she fenced well. I just wished I had known that up front so that maybe I would have considered fencing for myself more seriously.

Leave a Reply

