Skip to content
December 30, 2006 / TildeWill

Theif

Someone keeps stealing my Netflix returns and it pisses me off. The last two returns never made it and this morning I found a piece of the movie I was trying to return in the mail today.

So I’m considering several options:

  1. Sit up with a fake DVD sleeve in the box, snap a photo of the perp and hand it in to the police. The problem here is that I’m not sure the police will be able to identify and locate the perp. He/she may continue.
  2. Leave the porch light on. The higher the visibility, the greater chance the perp has of getting caught, but since I usually find an alcohol container along with my sleeve renants I imagine this perps judgement is imparied.
  3. Install a new mailbox with a lid so the perp can’t see what is in it. I doubt this will work because lately I’ve been folding the sleeve so the perp can’t see it from the street.
  4. Set up a door bell that the perp hears and scares him off. Pretty good.
  5. Set up a door bell that I hear and then go scare off the perp. Better… if I had a shotgun.

Got any other suggestions?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. sigmel / Dec 30 2006 2:14 pm

    When I lived in Lafayette I believe we had a similar problem with people picking off our Gamefly returns since the outgoing mail was just dropped off at the office in a clearly visible and accessible wicker box. Our solution was to just drop them off at the post office directly… There might be a way to get a mailbox with a lock perhaps, then you would just have to give the key to the mailman, assuming that you can do that.

  2. Josette / Dec 30 2006 5:01 pm

    Stealing mail is a federal offense, I believe, so this jackass should be turned in to the police ASAP. Also, leave your Netflix returns in a secure mailbox. I know, I know, that means you have to find one, but it beats some moran stealing them.

  3. lina / Jan 3 2007 8:58 am

    Agreed. Report it to the police as chances are others are also reporting mail theft in the area and in the mean time, leave the porch light on and mail all bills and movies back by using the blue drop off boxes or post office directly.

Leave a Reply

