Skip to content
December 2, 2006 / TildeWill

It doesn’t pay the bills, but…

Tonight, Mark Smith stopped by the fencing club. “Who is Mark Smith?” you ask. Well he happens to be the head of Purdue’s School of Electrical and Computer Engineering. More notably (in my book) is that he is a former fencer and representative of the USA at the Olympics. “Oh.”

Well during our conversation I think he finally began to understand what’s been going on in the world of fencing in Lafayette. He saw that people had choices of where they could fence, and compared us to New York.

Let that sink in.

It’s still sinking in over here. Someone who knows fencing far better than I just told me that Lafayette is like New York. Something that I had a big part in. But here’s the kicker: I’ve only just begun.

Yeah I want to quit some days. No, it hasn’t paid me well; hell, some months it hasn’t paid at all. But as I sit here eating a plain bowl of white rice, my spirit feels full. People ask me why I do what I do. I do it for moments like these, where my hometown, even if only for an instant, can be as great as New York.

Leave a Reply

