Skip to content
November 13, 2006 / TildeWill

Monday

Unless a miracle happens and I get an interview scheduled for tomorrow, I plan to go to a grave. Not just any grave, but the grave of one David DeMay, one of the fencers from Jefferson High, a student. He died in a car accident on April 25, 2004. He was on life support for about 48 hours. I was called to visit him at the hospital, but I didn’t realize the severity of the situation nor how much I meant to him.

When I went to the funeral the family had prepared a slide show. I was in half the pictures. He was buried with his fencing equipment. Until that moment, David was just another hopeless fencer. I wrote him off skill wise instantly. What I’ve since come to learn is that while you can’t win if you suck, you can still enjoy yourself, you can still be proud, you can still learn life skills from fencing. It’s something I’ve known since I was a sophomore in the Purdue Fencing Club, but to this day I still need to remind myself of it.

So tomorrow I’m going. I’m going to see where he is burried. I’m going to see his tombstone. I’m going to thank him for reminding me of the other things that are important.

Leave a Reply

