Skip to content
August 25, 2006 / TildeWill

Exactly

“Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”
  – Dr. Seuss

I think this is pretty much how I’ve run my life from day one. Back in college, the Great Dickersonian ask me about my friends. I told him that most of the people I knew were acquaintances, and only a select few fell in the “friend” category. Matt was a friend. My roommate was a acquaintance. The great part about this system is that you really start to get some high quality friends who always encourage you to do what’s best for yourself.

It’s not always the best route though. For example, it takes me a very long time to make a new friend, especially in a new place where I can’t rely on my like-minded friends to introduce me to new people.

Another downside is that I’ve been accused of being discriminating, that I’m not open to forming friendships with people who differ too much from my own value set. So while I don’t disagree about this observation, I don’t view it to be a bad thing either; a person should pick his friends wisely.

For those of you who recall my days of bright clothing and mismatched shoes, I used those to screen the people who talked to me. Those who were critical of the way I dressed were not concerned with who I was inside and so those people did not count, their opinion was easy to ignore. Those who were unfazed by my appearance, or even enamoured of my courage to stand out were the people that I wanted in my life. These days I’ve traded in my bright clothing for a colorful character, which has served me well thus far in the “adult world”.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Wolfwood / Aug 26 2006 9:32 am

    This is a very American attitude and would probably render you a social outcast in any Asian country. However, I agree: For the environment you are living in, it is a very good principle to follow.

Leave a Reply

