Skip to content
August 23, 2006 / TildeWill

The Internets Were Cooler…

I think the internet was cooler when I was in college, and certainly when I was in high school. I’m not entirely sure why but I have some suspicions:

  •  I think part of it was that I had a web page and not just anyone could put together the kind of site I put together. Now any user can get a blog or MySpace page without knowing a line of code. The magic is gone. BTW, moms read MySpace.
  • RSS keeps me from going to the site. I don’t stumble upon things anymore. I get the content I want and nothing more in my RSS reader.
  • I don’t know where to meet people my age who aren’t giant ass holes. Back in the days of AOL being cool and Prodigy before that, chat rooms were where it was at. Now if I poke my head in a chat room I run a good chance of being labeled a pedophile. Fourms always have more than the lion’s share of opinionated ass holes and it’s tough to form a friendship when you’ve got some cocky SOB interrupting with how moot your point is or how you’re violating the traditions of the board.

So I sit on AIM while I read up on fencing wondering why I can’t think of a better way to spend my free time.

Leave a Reply

