Skip to content
May 18, 2006 / TildeWill

I don’t know who I am

I don’t know who i am to my fencers. Every time I start to be comfortable being a business man who has no real relationship with his fencers other than fencing, they surprise me. Yesterday I was given a home made loaf of bread from one of the fencer’s mothers. Why? I don’t know.

I know I’d jump in front of a crazed referee for them. I know I want them all to be better fencers than I am. I do try to find out what’s going on in their lives outside of fencing, but I really can’t say that I understand any of them fully. I best understand Emma because as far as I can tell she’s the most like me.

I don’t expect gifts. I wouldn’t even say it’s a perk of being a fencing instructor. It surprises me every time and reminds me that maybe I mean more to my fencers and their families than just some guy who teaches fencing.

Leave a Reply

