Skip to content
February 17, 2006 / TildeWill

Credit Card El Woah

The other day I got my new USFA credit card (they changed from MBNA to USBank for some reason so I had to sign up for a new card if I wanted fencers on it. So usually in the past when I get a new card they had some measly limit of $500 or so. Not this one, I open the envelope and find a limit of $8K!?!?! That’s just asking for trouble especially given my upcoming financial trial of living off fencing.

What weirds me out more is the difference a full time job can make in one’s credit score. Mine must be pretty decent at the moment. I wonder how running my own business affects my credit score. Do I have to report my wages somewhere so I can keep it up? Or will creditors see that I’ve got debt, but no income? That would not be so good.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Jacqui / Feb 21 2006 5:51 pm

    I dunno if you’re actually inquiring, but generally your income isn’t ever actually even reported on your credit report anywhere. Usually when you apply for cards, they *ask* you what your income is and whatever you say determines the limit that they give you — your credit score doesn’t often factor into the level of credit they give you at all unless you have abnormally poor credit.

Leave a Reply

