Skip to content
January 24, 2006 / TildeWill

Cut the Crap

My friend, Heather, is moving home. She’s been living in Atlanta, GA attending grad school since August. Last week she tells me she’s packing up and moving back to Farmington on Tuesday. At first I was shocked. Heather is a sharp woman who kicks ass at all kinds of science that I can’t even begin to pronounce, let alone practice. It seems that despite the niceness of her situation on paper (top notch grad school for her field, warm climate of the south, new place and new adventures), it doesn’t make her happy. She’s not doing what she wants to do and it doesn’t make her feel like she’s getting any closer to her larger goals in life.

So she’s cutting out the crap in her life. For me that’s always been easy: cut the friends that don’t really treat you like friends, cut the activities that aren’t healthy, cut the tasks that drain me more than they’re worth. For Heather, I think, this has been a very trying point for her. So it is a big step for her to say that her situation isn’t what she wants and to make a change. I’m really proud of her for being able to do it. I wish I could say that if/when my life isn’t going the right direction that I’d be wiling to leave it all behind and try something else. Heather’s got guts, and it’s great to see her show them.

She’ll be fine I know, she’s got her undergrad under her belt, and tons of lab experience. She’s also pretty and has kick ass social skills. It will be exciting to see where this turn in her life leads her.

Leave a Reply

