Skip to content
November 3, 2005 / TildeWill

They’re Singing My Song

Seeing Matt reminded me of “The Summer of Matt” which was to be Matt’s finest summer, with all the parties and all the chicks and all the money. I think the end result was that the summer was the set up for the Fall/Winter of Matt, but the point was that everyone would be jealous of Matt’s amazing level of fun and success. In my head, we’d all be singing the Matt theme song. I want a theme song that everyone sings.

What I came to realize in the car yesterday was that there are people singing my song, just not with lyrics and choreography. The everyday people of my life are there cheering me on, people like my family, friends, and coworkers. These people want to see me succeed and go out of their way to take the time to help me out. With every dollar they spot me, or sympathetic ear, or suggested course of action they’re really saying “Go! You can do it!”

It’s these people that always have their best intentions for you that are the most helpful. They make us feel good, like we are a success, that we can do anything we set our minds to. The unfortunate part is that not everyone has these people. I’m not going to tell you to go out and be one of those people to someone else, but I will tell you that this is an important characteristic of any good relationship.

Leave a Reply

