Skip to content
August 24, 2005 / TildeWill

Purdue Alumni Roundup

Purdue FencingToday I sent out the first of several rounds of emails to Purdue Fencing Alumni. The initial list is twenty seven. It’s a lot more than the “two” that Scott O’Neal gave me (but to his credit I did not have those addresses). The sad part is that I mostly only have addresses of people from my class. What I really want to happen is the old people show up and I get to hear all the stories of yore.

Right now to get people interested I’m planning to set up an alumni banquet, potentially around Purdue’s Homecoming. There would also be a tournament for those alumni who still fence. The idea would be that we’d charge a fee for this event and the proceeds go to the PFC as a fund raiser. Why am I doing this? Because I said I’d do it when I was president. I tried when I was just the adviser. I will succeed as an alumni myself. I am a man who finishes things, of that you can be certain.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Britt / Aug 25 2005 8:06 am

    I don’t know if he techinically counts as alumni – but any problem with me forwarding this info to Scherschel?

  2. Will / Aug 25 2005 8:52 am

    Scherschel it up! Anyone who fenced at Purdue at any time is alumni in my book, the more the merrier!

  3. Anne / Aug 25 2005 7:27 pm

    Is Felix on there? I don’t remember…

  4. Will / Aug 25 2005 11:09 pm

    there’s lots of people that should be on there, but I’ve got no contact info for. Felix, Ed Williams, Jeremy Grese, Laura Wilkins, and on and on and on. Elsie sent me a pretty inclusive list of alumni she remembered, but I’m still address-less for them. I’m hoping that someone still keeps in touch with these people…

  5. ranea / Mar 26 2008 7:22 am

    This is Susan Hazel. Mike Strickland and I live together in South Carolina. I will give more details if requested..

    Also, Laura Wilkins got married in 2004. Though Mike and I attended her wedding, we can’t remember her new last name!! I will post if I remember it….

Leave a Reply

