Skip to content
August 18, 2005 / TildeWill

I Lost Some Faith In The Internet Today

So you may or may not remember that I’ve been looking for a roomie. Well someone responded! And she’s 26! And she’s a model! And she’s from England, land of sexy foreign accents! Could a man ask for anything more? I think not. So I moved all my crap out of the second bed room, so now office and bedroom are one in the same. I threw out some junk that was taking up space in her future closet. Even broke out the vacuum.

margretSo tonight I finally chat with this woman. She’s having her mom’s client send me a check for $3,500. That’s kinda weird because I only asked her for $375 for the first month’s rent. Later she asks me if she is getting the room or not. While I had not explicitly said she was, it seemed odd that someone would send a fat check to someone, not yet knowing if she had the room yet.

Well as you may suspect, the whole thing is a scam. No hot room mate, no extra cash money. Jacqui took the liberty of posting my story on Ars to see what we could find out. It doesn’t paint a pretty picture of the situation at all, but the picture I was sent is up there.

I admit I was pretty ignorant to think that a hot chick from England wanted to move to Florence, KY. But no harm done, no money lost, no one got hurt. And now I’ve got a nice empty room that is perfect for a pool table.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Jacqui / Aug 19 2005 6:51 am

    Actually, you should be happy because the internet helped you! This scam existed before the internet existed, and without the internet, you wouldn’t have found out about it so quickly! 😉

Leave a Reply

