Skip to content
August 15, 2005 / TildeWill

Privacy

Lately the topic of privacy has been on my mind. I think it kinda stems from the idea of a web cam. I used to have my “always on” streaming web cam, and people would be freaked out that I was comfortable having my life broadcast on the internet. Some of my thoughts have also been focused around the patriot act. The case being made that the government is invading our privacy. In both cases my head is always filled with the question:

What do I have to hide?

The answer is a resounding “nothing”. I’m a pretty upstanding citizen overall. I’ve been known to jay walk, but aside from that I haven’t broken any laws. I don’t do too many activities that are frowned upon by society. I live a clean life. If someone wanted to tape me and spend their life documenting mine, I say “Go nuts!”, that’s one less thing I have to do. If my employer wanted to comb through my blog and read every detail of my life, he could. I’d like to think it wouldn’t affect my work environment negatively, but even if it did, I think someone would be hard pressed to fire a good worker because I went to the bars Friday night.

So is that the concern? Do people want to do shady stuff but feel that they do not have the privacy to pull it off? If that’s the case then I say “live your life well” and you’ll have nothing to worry about.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jacqui / Aug 16 2005 5:52 am

    Okay, Mr. “Small Government.”

  2. Will / Aug 16 2005 7:19 am

    I didn’t say I needed the government in all of my business, just that I wouldn’t mind it if they were.

Leave a Reply

