Skip to content
August 7, 2005 / TildeWill

Samasaurus

dinosaurdoctor

I decided to see what Google would pull up if I just typed dinosaur. Well it had a fairly educational page as the number one hit so I decided to poke around. I learned that there are a lot more dinos than the handful I grew up on, and that some of these "fearfully great lizards" are named after people (usually those that found the skeleton).

So the question comes up: If you discovered a dinosaur, would you name after yourself? ie. Willadactyl, Readadon, or Lelandocus? Seems overly vain to me. I’d rather give it a more descriptive name personally.

This also makes me wonder what they ‘ll call me when they dig me up millions of years from now? What is the suffix they might use to describe "skinny white boy"? Would I be a Willageek? Hermitusmaximus? Velocibachelor? Or maybe a Bitesthingsthatpisshimoffasaurus? I think that last one is more suited to a T-Rex though *chomp*. Ah! To be a dinosaur!

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Will / Aug 7 2005 3:31 pm

    I can’t handle it! That picture is so funny! I thought I was one of the few who did goofy poses with inanimate objects at this age. Plus, why is the T-rex dressed like a doctor?

  2. Anne / Aug 7 2005 3:52 pm

    OMG Will! If dinosaurs were named things like that, maybe I would have taken less interest in mythical creatures and more in exoticly named really dead ones. Wow… I like the Velocibachelor!

  3. Jacqui / Aug 8 2005 12:18 pm

    “Plus, why is the T-rex dressed like a doctor?”

    That’s what I was wondering.

  4. Will / Aug 8 2005 12:44 pm

    The only guess I have is that the T-Rex is like th the pigs/frogs in Lafayette or the pigs(?) in Cincinnati where stores pay an artist to decorate the sculpture however they want. In this particular place, the animal was a t-rex maybe? Just a guess. Either way it’s still messed up.

Leave a Reply

