Skip to content
July 26, 2005 / TildeWill

I’m not a zealot

While Brittany’s post was a contributing factor in getting my mind
going about issues surrounding life, I was not responding to it. But
after writing I realized how fired up I was, and it made me think that
maybe anti-abortion is a cause I need to be more active in. So I did a
Google search on just that.

Everything I came up with had some sort of religious ties, or was
talking about the anti-abortion demonstration that became violent, or
the doctor that was murdered because he performed abortions. None of
that is me. I’m not going to stand in your way at the doctor’s office.
I’m probably not going to talk about this beyond the realm of this blog
because this is my space and if you want to read it you can, you have
that choice. I will talk about it if asked to do so, but I will not
assume anyone wants to hear what I want to say.

I guess to me I feel like my passion comes from my background with
adoption, knowing that someone had a reason to choose my death, but
instead chose to let me live. I wonder if there is an anti-abortion
group that centers around being pro-adoption. Because that’s really
where I belong. I don’t want to split hairs over what is life and what
isn’t, I really just want living children to have the shot at life that
they deserve. The same shot that I was afforded.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jacqui / Jul 27 2005 6:04 am

    “Iím not going to stand in your way at the doctorís office.” — if this is true, then you are pro-choice (supporting of the ability to make the choice). Pro-choice people are not necessarily pro-abortion (in fact, most pro-choice people are anti-abortion, but the other side identifies as anti-choice).

    WRT your question, adoption is usually an endorsable factor on both sides, but it is not the main issue so it’s not the main focus. There are lots of groups that focus around adoption that are not involved in abortion debate at all, too.

  2. Will / Jul 27 2005 7:40 am

    I don’t support the choice. Denying a person his/her right to life is not something I support. I support alterantives.

  3. Jacqui / Jul 27 2005 11:32 am

    Oh okay, I was confused.

  4. Britt / Jul 27 2005 1:32 pm

    I could try to say that I didn’t mean to rile people up with that, because I did, I was riled up myself. But for what it’s worth I both understand and respect your position on this, and if anything knowing you has forced me to examine my own position a lot more closely.

  5. Elsie / Jul 27 2005 8:36 pm

    Just wondering…what is your stance on birth control? I wonder because it too can stop “living children.” Is it only late abortions that you’re concerned with or early ones too?

  6. Rick Read / Jul 28 2005 6:00 pm

    I graduated from college in 1973, the same year that Roe vs. Wade was decided. I remember thinking thank goodness, noone has to go to some illegal backroom anymore, where you don’t know the credentials of the abortionist. We had all heard the horror stories. I remember thinking the decision relieved me of some of the risk of having sex.
    Then when I married in 1975, it didn’t matter. I didn’t have to fear a pregnancy that might be ill-timed. As you know we couldn’t get pregnant, so adoption was our course. Our views about abortion began to change since abortion limited the availability of children.
    Some time later (probably in the ’80s) we viewed a TV program called “The Silent Scream.” It so repulsed me that I no longer sat on the “choice” fence. I realized abortion was the killing of a human being. Today, I did a google search and found it.
    Unfortunately, the internet quality does not match that of the televison. But, it’s still graphic and disturbing. If you have the guts, watch it.
    http://www.silentscream.org
    Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

