Skip to content
July 25, 2005 / TildeWill

I’m Numb!

Just got back from getting a root canal or three. It was a fairly
painless process and the dentist fenced a fair amount in college so
that made the one way conversation fun and enjoyable.

Speaking of fencing I also just returned from my week-long coaching
extravaganza! Between naps and dropping Joe off in Lafayette it was
roughly 32 hours on the road and I was exhausted by the time I got home
so I ended up taking the day off from work.

I already miss former Purdue fencer and now friend, Marc, who coaches
up in Northern Indiana. He was a good resource as far as coaching went
and he really did a good job of motivating me through competition.
There was a written and a practical exam at the end, I passed both so I
am now certified by the USFA in Level 1 Epee.

Before I left I mentioned I was feeling like maybe it was time to move
on from fencing. Well I can’t say that I’m terribly excited about
fencing in Cinci, but being at coaches college last week made me want
to be back in Lafayette to coach. I feel like there is a lot of good I
could do back there and I want to take care of RCF. Jefferson High is
still growing and there is talk of starting a program at West
Lafayette. I know the PFC president and I have our differences, but I
could really be a good influence there too.

Marc encouraged me to go back, to make a go at it, be a full time
coach. While the idea does have a great deal of appeal, I really don’t
want to move again right now, and I like having my stable income. We’ll
see, but for now I’m glad the longest drive I have to worry about for a
while is the commute to and from work.

Leave a Reply

