Skip to content
June 27, 2005 / TildeWill

*shrug*

The following post was triggered by a post Brittany made.

Apparently the Supreme Court has ruled that music companies can sue other companies that encourage piracy of songs. Let me first say that I’ve recently taken to buying CDs and I’m using valid services like iTunes Music Store to get individual songs. What I’m about to say is along the lines of "This is nothing new." People have been stealing music for generations, just look at the cassette. Yeah you could record your own original music or voice, or whatever, but I know 99% of my tapes had music I ganked from the radio or someone else. So I think it is silly that they allow the internet to be a target and not other media forms in the past. I understand that regardless it is against the law, but double standards that detract from my beloved interweb get under my skin.

Britt then responded with this.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Will / Jun 28 2005 7:46 am

    I like my laws to be absolute which is why I would be a terrible lawyer. I think the folks who created Napster, Limewire, and other similar products would be hard pressed to say that they personally didn’t know that their product was being used to distribute music and movies illegally. “Oh look, thousands of people want to share files with total strangers, I wonder what is going on here…?” Yeah right.

  2. Britt / Jun 28 2005 9:27 am

    So, I was less responding to your site and more going over the case cause it’d been awhile since I had really looked at one. I hope you didn’t take offense.

  3. Will / Jun 28 2005 9:29 am

    Oh no no no no. No offence taken. Just felt a need to further clarify my feelings and give credit to the source of the topic.

Leave a Reply

