Skip to content
June 22, 2005 / TildeWill

iTunes Experience

Last night I bought my first three songs off the internet. I went with the iTunes store because it has a good reputation among my peers and I’m kinda curious what all iTunes can do for me. I shelled out three bucks on "Heaven Is A Place On Earth" by Belinda Carlyle as well as? "Jealousy" another song by the Gin Blossoms. They’re songs that I’ve always liked, and didn’t need to make the same mistake I made with "Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover" and buy the whole CD hoping that there’d be other good songs.

So now I’ve got a way to get those songs that when I say "Hey, that’s a great song!" I can get it legally. I also like knowing that the artist and album information is going to be correct, and that I’m not downloading something that Joe Schmo decided was by Weird Al when it was really by Art McGee, jerk.

All in all I’m pleased with my experience. I will say that I hate not having my native windows buttons and boxes? in iTunes and on the Apple web site, but I’m not going to let it stop me from using a good product. I think the best/scary part is that you only have to put in your credit card info once, I can just see myself downloading away and $100 later I’m like "oh yeah, doh!"

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dickersonian / Jun 22 2005 9:43 am

    Personally, I have moved on to Real Rhapsody. $10 a month for UNLIMITED downloads, the only catch is you can’t burn them on a cd. If you stop paying the $10, you lose the songs. As my brother put it, ‘they are holding your music ransom for $10 a month’. They will, however, let me put it on my Creative Nomad Micro and take it with me. Def better than the $100 a month I was spending on cds before.

  2. Brent / Jun 22 2005 4:13 pm

    Some of Joe Schmo’s Rules of mp3 info I’ve noticed:

    All Novelty and Funny songs = Weird Al
    All A Cappella music = Rockapella
    All Classical Music = one of [Beethoven, Bach, Mozart]
    All music by Da Vinci’s Notebook = Bob and Tom
    All music by any group Paul McCartney has been in/performed with/started = Beatles

Leave a Reply

