Skip to content
June 17, 2005 / TildeWill

My Dad Can Beat Up Your Dad

Ah, child hood. The days when people were doodie heads and poo poo brains. And if you ever ran out of insults, you could always count on your dad to be able to beat up any other kid’s dad. The beauty of that statement of course was that most dad’s won’t get into a fist fight with each other, so no one could ever prove or disprove your statement.

Life is still kind of like that, I can always count on Dad to back me up when I need help. Sunday of course is Father’s Day and so this post is about my dad. Dad is a man who sets an outstanding example for his children, and yet is able to be a friend to us as well.

What I mean by that is that Dad does all the things you expect a dad to do. Work to? provide for his family, be Mr. Fix-It, spend time with the kids, be a caring team player in his marriage to his wife. He and Mom have always worked hard to present a united front. There was never a "Mom said ‘No’, so let’s go ask Dad." because Dad would always ask us what Mom said. I guess as a kid I could have lied and said "mom said it was ok", but then why would I be asking for a second opinion? The two of them work well together and it is easy to see why they just celebrated their 30th anniversary.

But a Dad is a friend to me too. He can cut up with? Jon and I? at the dinner table, and he’ll crank out a fart when he knows you’re listening. Dad is also a guide when I encounter a new problem in life. He makes it a point not to tell me what I should do, but rather what his experience has been and how his actions worked out. Most of all Dad loves me for who I am and inspires me to be a great person, just like him.

I love you Dad,
~Will

P.S. All the same things can be said for my wonderful Mother as well πŸ™‚

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom / Jun 17 2005 8:31 am

    Sweet blog! … But I don’t crank out farts! πŸ™‚

  2. Will / Jun 17 2005 9:07 am

    Ok, no farts from Mom, this is true.

  3. Rick Read / Jun 17 2005 4:13 pm

    Thank you for such wonderful comments. I’m so glad that you are able to verbalize your feelings – communication is key in everything we do. Hopefully, one day, you’ll also have the joy of hearing similar words from your son or daughter. I’m so proud of you.
    I love you too. Dad

Leave a Reply

