Skip to content
June 4, 2005 / TildeWill

Sexuality

I’ve been sitting on this post forever. It’s been revised a lot. So
here we go. Since I’ve come to college I’ve had the pleasure of knowing
more than a handful of people who are gay/lesbian/bisexual. I say
pleasure because they were all my friends. Some are more promiscuous
than others. Some are more open about their sexual orientation than
others. Aside from who they like to sleep with they are just like your
run of the mill straight person, and to fear or condone them is no
better than being a racist. "Woah there Will! You don’t get to pick
your skin color." you say. Well some will argue that you don’t get to
pick your sexual orientation either. In fact, Heather works in a lab
that is doing research on the links between genetics and sexual
orientation. But let’s say you do get to pick. What if someone denied
you a job because you shop at Marsh instead of Kroger? Or what if the
government said you couldn’t get married because you own a cat instead
of a dog? These are choices that you would normally consider to have no
affect on the job or getting married, and it is the same way with
homosexuals and bisexuals. Yeah, you can have homosexuals and bisexuals
who aren’t friendly or nice, but there’s plenty of straight people I
don’t associate with either.
It is discrimination to refuse a thing to a person based strictly on
his/her sexual orientation. We’ve gone through this before with blacks’
and women’s rights. It makes me sad that society cannot learn from past
experiences.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. britt / Jun 5 2005 6:56 pm

    I like this post for obvious reasons perhaps, but I think the standard question I always seem to be applying to people when the question of choice and sexuality come up is, “On what day did you wake up and decide to be heterosexual?” Because even though I too have lived with and befriended many people who are gay and bi-sexual and given that I consider sexuality based more on a continuum than falling in strict categories, I really can’t give you a day that I decided to like guys. And the things I like – the smell of certain guys and/or certain colognes, the sound of their voices and a myriad of other things besides are all silly but don’t seem to be something I learned, it’s just something I’ve always liked.

  2. Heather / Jun 5 2005 9:06 pm

    The issue of biological bases for homosexual orientation is a tricky one. It seems like if we can come up with a genetic or hormonal reason for why someone would prefer to have sex with a same-sexed partner, it justifies it somehow, or makes it easier for us to take. This is weird to me….why can’t people just leave other people alone? Biological reasons aside, if a man chooses to sleep with another man, no one else has anything to say about it! I believe that even if we can prove to society’s satisfaction that homosexuality is NOT a choice, the hatred and abuse will continue. As mentioned above, look at racism. It is programmed into us to be afraid of things we don’t understand, it’s as simple as that. Fucking sad.

  3. Heather / Jun 5 2005 9:11 pm

    PS: Several gay rights activists have emailed my boss and said “Stop researching this, leave our sexuality alone, you’re not helping anything.” Apparently they feel the way I do, that people will always look for something to hate and to be angry. I guess they feel it is a waste of time and money and energy to try to convince people otherwise who probably don’t want to listen anyway. I guess maybe this is correct, but I always want to understand things to the fullest extent that I can.

  4. Britt / Jun 7 2005 2:31 pm

    Actually, in a book by Michael Thomas Ford (who happens to be pretty hysterical), he talks about this issue. To him, it’s not so much the waste of time thing as it is if it is genetically based, will research one day come up with a genetic “cure” for homosexuality? Either way genetic or environmentally caused (or whatever combination of the two), the fear is simply that if we locate it’s source that we can one day “fix it”, which like Heather notes is not the point. There are similar issues in the deaf community and their resistance to conchular (sp?) implants.

Leave a Reply

