Skip to content
May 19, 2005 / TildeWill

I Hated English

Going through grade school (and college too I guess) I loathed English class. I recognize that it was something I needed to learn, and I am in awe of those who enjoy it, but that’s not for me.

I think a lot of it stems from the build up and let down that there was some sort of hard fast way to accomplish a task in the language. For example,
The build up: "I before E…"
The let down: "…EXCEPT after blah blah blah blah."

Always with the exceptions. Now look at this from a kid’s stand point.
The build up: "Everyone gets candy…"
The let down: "… EXCEPT those of you who have the letter ‘L’ in your name."

WTT? Really.

Leave a Reply

