Skip to content
March 22, 2005 / TildeWill

Bank Thoughts

Well I’ve been told to expect an offer either today or tomorrow, it’s just a a matter of paperwork at this point.

So since I currently bank with PEFCU and I’m pretty sure there’s no
PEFCU in Kentucky I was looking at banks. I was thinking something like
Bank One that has ATM’s all over the country, so I looked up banks in
Florence which is where I currently have my sights set and there’s no
Bank One, but there is 5/3 banks all over that place. I know Lafayette
has a 5/3 so if/when I come back that would be convenient.

Anyone have any experience with them? Good experiences? Bad
experiences? I’ve been pretty pleased with PEFCU and their low/no fees.
I need a checking and a savings account, what plan did/would you go
with?

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Brian / Mar 22 2005 2:04 pm

    I switched from PEFCU to some other banks and then to 5/3 when I transferred schools, and I love 5/3. The e53checking account is great. So much better than the other banks down here in southern Indiana, Kentucky, and Ohio.

    I highly recommend it. Customer service has been great, too.

  2. Brittany / Mar 22 2005 2:19 pm

    Something to keep in mind: I thought having Bank one at home and at school would make things easier on me. The problem however is that the Bank One in WL is considered part of Bank One Indiana. The one at home, given it’s proximity to Louisville is considered part of Bank One Kentucky. While they can access each other’s systems for information they cannot, for instance, link my checking account (opened in WL) with my savings account opened here, which is small, but still significant pain in the ass.

  3. Mom / Mar 22 2005 2:40 pm

    When you get this job offer, hopefully you’ll PHONE HOME so I don’t have to keep checking your blog every hour for the next 48! Of course, that would add to your site stats! 🙂

  4. Will / Mar 22 2005 4:02 pm
  5. Becky / Mar 22 2005 4:57 pm

    I have an account with Bank One, and it’s nice that it’s around here, but I was much happier with my former bank, First Indiana, because of the coustomer service. I’d probably go with 5/3, seeing as Brian speaks highly of it. Even though their name doesn’t make much sense.

  6. Josette / Mar 22 2005 10:06 pm

    i am not a fan of bank one in any way shape or form. i have heard good things about 5/3, but i would see if there’s a credit union in the area that plays nice with PEFCU.

  7. Elsie / Mar 23 2005 1:22 am

    Hey Will,

    I personally didn’t like 5/3. I don’t know if they changed but everything was done on paper. They had hand-written reciepts. I have bank one and have not had any problem but I do EVERYTHING with them online.

    Good luck with the big move!

Leave a Reply

