Skip to content
March 21, 2005 / TildeWill

Good News on All Fronts

Just got off the phone with Adam at NAS (the company near Cinci but in
Kentucky). He asked me some of the same questions that Oscar and Everett
asked me on Friday and when we were done he told me I was the best
suited candidate for the job they’ve seen and that I have his vote.

I also talked to my recruiter, Tom, on the phone, he’s my ringer for
negotiating salary. The range they’ve mentioned sounds fine even at the
bottom end, but? who couldn’t use more money??

I then talked to Whitey (Kyle) a former Purdue fencer about fencing in the area. He pointed me to Salle Du Lion
which I don’t know why I missed it in my search on the USFA pages for a
club in the area. So it’s looking like I’m aiming to live in Florence
and fence at Salle Du Lion while working at NAS.

Parents said I would be wise to wait on house buying. I really want a
house though, so I asked myself why. Mainly I want a garage for my car
(and shop tools), a place I can put a pool table, have a yard and maybe
a dog to keep me company, and to not have to be touching another
housing unit (ie. noisy upstairs neighbors). Now none of that
precludes renting a house, so that’s what I may shoot for.

Of course all of this hinges on getting an offer, but at this point
it’s better odds that I get an offer than betting on red at the
roulette table.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Dickersonian / Mar 22 2005 10:13 am

    Salle du Lion was the first thing I thought of when I read your other post and you talked about fencing. I (briefly) checked them out when I was on co-op… seemed to have their shit together.

Leave a Reply

