Skip to content
March 8, 2005 / TildeWill

Kickin This Pig!

While sitting at work being under motivated I updated my resume, sent it in to Purdue University HR, and then proceeded to apply for six different openings on campus. Most of them are web related in some fashion which is good because I really miss doing web work. Some are more database related.

I also browsed the Talk to Tucker pages for houses. My goal is to be hired full time on a permanent basis by August and to be moving into my own house. Currently my criteria is as follows:

  • Bedrooms: 2+
  • Bathrooms: 2+
  • Must have garage and central air.
  • Should be within walking distance of campus

That last bullet is gonna kill my selection. I’ve found some good homes in the price range I’m willing to pay (roughly $120,000), but none are close to campus. They’re way out by Jefferson Commons or over in Lafayette.

Some house buying nuances I’m remembering/relearning: Basements area is generally not included in the overall square footage number. Why? I don’t know, I mean they count the second floor in that number. Fire places are listed as one of the few criteria you can limit your search on. Who really makes a house decision based on a place to burn wood? Just crank up the heat and get a marshmallow roaster. And the last one: Location, location, location; I’d live in a cardboard box if it was in the right neighborhood.

My parents say buying new is where it is at financially. I kinda like the idea of not having to get all my appliances right out of the gates (ie. used home). I also like the landscaping of an older home with trees that have some age to them. I do like the idea of a new home in that I don’t have to wonder who had what kind of sloppy sex on which walls.

In the back of my mind I know you all think I’m nuts, that a guy who just got told he only has a month of guaranteed employment is thinking about buying a house. The thing is it gives me a goal, a reward for finding a new job, somewhere to focus my hopes.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jacqui / Mar 8 2005 6:01 pm

    I think, in order to do this, you have to start *saving* money first. šŸ˜‰

  2. Brittany / Mar 9 2005 8:52 am

    My father was just explaining to me the other day that our basement is not included in the sq ft of the house because it’s not “living space”. Which I guess is good for tax purposes? *shrug*

  3. Will / Mar 9 2005 10:49 am

    Yes, saving is good. I’ve actually got a decent chunk of change squandered away, not house buying money mind you, but enough that I could at least get through one month of unemployment. Besides, now-a-days mortgage lenders are all about the no money down loans or even low money down like 1% or something small like that.

Leave a Reply

